FINA World Championships

FINA (now known as World Aquatics), the international governing body of aquatic sports, has organized a World Championship for Open Water (Long Distance) Swimming since 1991. These were held in conjunction with the general FINA World Championships for pool swimming, diving, and water polo in 1991, 1994, 1998, and every odd-numbered year from 2001 to present. Standalone Open Water World Championships were held in even-numbered years between 2000 and 2010.

The following are the Open Water World Championships held under the FINA name. For World Championship events from 2023 to present, see World Aquatics Championships.